In love in Nairobi

Remember when I was obsessed with penguins? Followed closely by flowers? Well as of two days ago they mean nothing to me because I am officially in LOVE with giraffes (but not in a creepy way, even though I did kind of let the baby open-mouth kiss me).

20120422-113222.jpg

20120422-113256.jpg

20120422-113159.jpg

I just got back a few days ago from two weeks in Ethiopia, so as usual I have lots of catch-up blogging to do, but in the meantime I was way too excited about the giraffes to have them wait their turn.

12 thoughts on “In love in Nairobi

  1. Just love the images, are they really that cute? Is their fur soft or rough like horse hair? Also, even tough young they are really big, aren’t they really strong? They seem so playful… Enjoy.
    Barrie, Simon and the gang…

  2. Thanks πŸ™‚ These ones were taken with my friend’s very-professional camera so I can’t take credit this time.

    Their hair is more like horse hair. They are unbelievably cute — and I think very strong because of their size, but these ones have lived around people their whole lives and are extremely gentle. There were little kids feeding them with minimal supervision. These giraffes are a subspecies that is very endangered so that’s why they are in semi-captivity (they have a huge amount of space to roam around, but there are fences); some of the babies are reintroduced into the wild later on.

    There was also an elephant orphanage nearby, so photos of that are coming! Their skin is surprisingly hairy and very rough.

  3. Loving your blog! Amazing photos. So happy that you are having such a great time. I’m in NYC this weekend for Bran’s swearing in. We just checked in at the Hampton Inn, Albany. It’s an interesting place…. Miss you xxxx

    • Sorry I’m missing you in NY! I think we stayed at a Hampton Inn in Tarrytown for that wedding, remember? Congrats on the swearing-in πŸ™‚

  4. Just found your blog.
    It sounds like you are having/ had a wonderful experience.
    give my love to the Girraffes and stay safe πŸ™‚

  5. Wow! I can’t believe you were able to get that close! Love the pictures and I am also in love with giraffes! Not so much with elephants, though! πŸ™‚ Looking forward to see the next lot of photos and hearing about your time in Ethiopia!
    Enjoy!
    Sally, Brian and baby Joshua

  6. You are not alone in feeding giraffes. We were in Florida for Pesach and during Holomoed David, Bridget and Elsie and U.Abe and A. Trixie went to visit the nearby Safari Park, and guerr what? Elsie loves to feed the giraffes. Since some Jews have to avoid kitniot, Jews are given leaves instead of grain to feed them. How caring can they get. Elana just got your blog from Jerusalem express. Lovely idea keep enjoying. xx U. Abe/A. Trixie

Leave a Reply

